I discovered Stacy Fischer of Visual Venturing when Joanne of Coffee Fuels My Photography took part in Stacy’s monthly After-Before Friday (ABFriday) challenge, which happens every first Friday of the month. The idea is to download the given image and cast your spell with post-processing. The image for July was provided by Robin Kent.

The deadline for July’s submission was some days ago but I thought I would nevertheless see what I could come up with. As regular followers know, I rarely plan or have anything specific in mind so that the result can be a complete surprise. Here it is.

goldcapitolhill

I overlaid the image with two textures. The first was 2LO Haunting 5 from Denise Love at 2 Lil’ Owls, bought via Design Cuts. I cycled through Photoshop’s blending modes without finding anything that looked remotely interesting. I left it at ‘colour burn’ and searched through my own backgrounds. I chose a grungy green created for His Master’s Voice. I reduced the opacity to 87% and tried ‘colour burn’ for this as well, which gave Capitol Hill a gold, bronze and red feel which appealed to me.

I’m also rather fond of the green-grunge-only effect.

greencapitolhill

I hope to enter the challenge next month for real.

Click here to see the submissions for July and here for the rules.

Take care and keep laughing!

Sarah

