No news on the duff connection. I thought you’d want to know! But I won’t tell you how long it takes to create my own posts with such a connection.

Le Déjeuner dans l'atelier by Édouard Manet Gallery Wrap Canvas
Le Déjeuner dans l’atelier by Édouard Manet Gallery Wrap Canvas

I’m following up my re-blog of Maedaz’s post yesterday by giving you my favourite Manet, Le Déjeuner dans l’atelier.

This French artist (1832-1883) might well have gone into the law had he followed the dictates of his upper class family but his passion for art held sway. Influenced in his style by the work of Francisco José de Goya and Diego Velázquez, he chose subjects not hitherto considered suitable for art such as gypsies and beggars or nudes alongside the fully-clothed, and strove towards a form of realism that paved the way for modernism. Luncheon in the Studio, or Le Déjeuner dans l’atelier, which Manet painted in 1868, is on display at the Bayerische Staatsgemaldesammlungen in Munich.

Available at the following galleries:
Zazzle US
Zazzle UK

Take care and keep laughing!

Sarah

