This is a digital collage from 2012 in which I used a vintage theatre poster for the musical comedy The Earl and the Girl as my starting point and layered it with several pieces of ephemera in my theatre collection, including a black & white postcard of the actor-manager Sir Seymour Hicks.

The above is not the postcard I used but another one for sale at my First Night Vintage store on Zazzle. Why? Because I don’t seem to have uploaded the other one for sale!

The Earl and the Girl was produced by William Greet and first staged in 1903 at the Adelphi Theatre, London, before transferring to the Lyric Theatre in 1904. The show was also produced on Broadway in 1905 with Eddie Foy in the lead. The book was by Hicks, with music by Ivan Caryll and lyrics by Percy Greenbank.

Available to buy @
Redbubble
Crated
Zazzle
Fine Art America
Fine Art England

Take care and keep laughing!

Sarah

