I’ve had no internet connection for the last three days and sitting in the local café to get access is not kind to my disabled wreck of a body, alas. In the meantime, enjoy the beautiful watercolours of Janet Weight Reed and I’ll be with you when I can!

My Life as an Artist (2)

During the middle part of my career, from 1986 til 1999, I painted large murals for corporate entities.      They weren’t always paintings I was excited about, but they paid the bills and kept my tools honed, which in turn gave me freedom to paint what I wanted to paint.  

Something I learned, which has stood me in good stead, is that if you change one small area of a huge mural.the whole image changes.       

P1130874

A relatively small change might not seem obvious to the viewer, but the fact is that every brush stroke added or deleted changes the rhythm and energy of a painting. 

P1130876

And so it is with all of life.        

Rachel Carson in her book Silent Spring, first published in 1962, recognised the early signs of relatively small changes within the environment.    …

View original post 121 more words

