“All of old. Nothing else ever. Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.” Samuel Beckett (1906-1989), Worstward Ho

As you might imagine, Worstward Ho, Beckett’s last but one novella and published in 1983, was a parody of Charles Kingsley’s Westward Ho!  I find the words quoted above to be an excellent piece of advice lest we hold ourselves back by not being perfect.  Striving for perfection is good; beating ourselves about the head for not achieving such simply brings us low, unable to do anything.  Perfection is unattainable.

Samuel Beckett Caricature by Edmund S Valtman
Samuel Beckett Caricature by Edmund S Valtmanbeckett by FirstNightVintage

Caricature by Edmund S. Valtman from 1969 of Samuel Beckett, courtesy of Wikimedia.

Playwright Samuel Beckett is not to everyone’s taste.  Indeed, when I was at drama school in the mid-70s, you were considered persona non grata if you expressed a distaste for either Beckett or Harold Pinter.  That’s a slight exaggeration but I did find that others were aghast that I liked neither Beckett nor Pinter.  It was not until I saw a production of  Happy Days that I began to see what all the fuss was about.  I continue to resist the work of Pinter!

Take care and keep laughing!

Sarah

