I’m very fond of watercolours.  Interestingly, I have heard people disparaging them over the years, almost as if they considered the skill required inferior to that of painting in oils or acrylics and thus making any result worthless.  To me, watercolour can often create a picture much more emotional and evocative than one done in another medium.

I suspect that the number of books teaching you How to Paint Watercolours in 4 Easy Lessons, or some such title, add to the myth that watercolour is easy and doesn’t require any talent or skill.  I find it difficult to paint with watercolour but have occasionally turned out something of note.  Believe me, it’s not as easy as it looks!

Now that a disabling condition, which affects my mobility and dexterity, has impacted on my ability to wield a paintbrush, I have been exploring ways to create the same effect on a computer and I don’t just mean by use of a ‘watercolour’ filter in software such as Photoshop but by playing with layers of photographs and textures, and changing the blend modes as well as softening certain areas with various tools.  It’s a great joy experimenting and that’s how I created Infinity.

If you are interested in learning more about watercolour, whether you are an amateur or professional, I would recommend a book and DVD by the UK artist Jean Haines, Colour and Paint in Water Colour.   A reviewer on Amazon writes: ‘I can honestly say that this book, more than any other I have read (and there have been many), has directly influenced my work and way of thinking. Jean Haines is an Artist whose time is now. She is at the top of her game. You need to study the best. Buy this book.’

Take care and keep laughing!

Sarah

