“Study the past if you would define the future.” Confucius

I must be mad — don’t all shout at once! It’s not as if I have nothing to do but I couldn’t resist starting another blog.  The subject is History, one of my passions. It was the urging of TV producer-turned-writer, A L Berridge, that tipped me over the edge!

Knowing our history, personal and public, is vital if we are to come anywhere near improving our future. The past is littered with mistakes made by everyone. If we don’t learn from history, we cannot safeguard and improve our future.  It seems the human race is more able to realise this on a personal level than a public one. Or perhaps it’s simply that if a person’s trajectory leads to public office, the trappings turn them into selfish individuals, the I’m-alright-Jack, I-can-avoid-the-same-mistakes-without-checking-my-history types. I’m generalising but I’m sure you get my drift.

And then, of course, there’s the UK Education Secretary, Michael Gove, who seems intent on turning the learning of History into a glorious-battle-over-the-underdogs by rote. That path leads us nowhere.

Although I will be writing the odd article for First Night History, it will consist primarily of re-blogs and, I hope, an occasional commissioned post.

Study history, study history. In history lies all the secrets of statecraft.” Winston Churchill

“That men do not learn very much from the lessons of history is the most important of all the lessons of history.” Aldous Huxley

“The most effective way to destroy people is to deny and obliterate their own understanding of their history.” George Orwell

“History will be kind to me for I intend to write it.” Winston Churchill

Take care and keep laughing!

Sarah

